It is currently April 19th, 2014, 7:06 pm

Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
 New to L5R, working on a Mantis deck 
Taisa
Taisa

Post New to L5R, working on a Mantis deck
Hey everyone. I'm quite new to L5R, and I'm trying my second clan. I have a Dragon Kensai deck; it's the second Dragon deck I've tried (monks didn't really stick...). It's ok, but not quite what I was hoping for. So, since my playgroup doesn't have any Mantis players, and they seem like fun, I'm gonna go for it.

I got the Celestial Edition and Dead of Winter Mantis decks, and a mess of boosters. My group is quite liberal with trading and gifting of cards outside of each player's clan, so I have access to a large number of rares, uncommons, and commons outside of what I've already got.

It looks like the Mantis cards I have now are geared towards naval (obviously), scouts, and ranged attacks. Any advice on how to turn this mess of cards into a deck? Feel free to offer any advice, including cards I ought to seek out.

Thanks everyone! I'm loving the game so far; just looking for my niche : )

January 26th, 2011, 10:46 am
Rikugunshokan
Rikugunshokan

Post Re: New to L5R, working on a Mantis deck
Well Mantis is far more enjoyable than Dragon (which is the second clan I love the most).

Mantis are always about naval, for sure! That's our main strategy. We love to play lot of guys with battle abilities as it is the way Mantis are (not too much force but good abilities).

Our main strategies are :